As an agreeable place to visit -whether on business or vacation – the Ugandan capital, Kampala, Is hard to beat. Located about 35 km from Entebbe International Airport, the city has a delightful climate with a daytime temperature of about 20°C all year round and just enough rain to maintain the green and lush splendour […]

KITALE: Colonial echoes and mountain views

KITALE: Colonial echoes and mountain views

Located close to Mount Elgon and the Cherangani Hills 395 km north-west of Nairobi, the agricultural and market town of Kitale is certainly worth a visit and offers an interesting colonial legacy With just over 100,000 citizens. Kitale is the administrative capital of Trans- Nzoia County. Kitale’s economy is based on agriculture and the surrounding […]

A – Z of Mombasa

26 great reasons to visit We love Mombasa, but then again, who doesn’t? The sandy shores mixed with the Swahili heritage, topped off with a gorgeous climate makes Mombasa one of the country’s top places to visit. In celebration of this wonderful city, Fly540 has compiled an A-Z of reasons to love Mombasa A is […]

Top 7 Family Attractions in and around Kampala

The pace of life slows down the minute you cross the border into Uganda, which makes this country – with so many attractions only an hour or less from the capital, Kampala – an ideal place for a family holiday. Here are seven locations guaranteed to awe you: 1. Speke Resort Munyonyo One of the […]

Lamu: Step back in time to an age of magic…

For over a thousand years, the island of Lamu has been welcoming travellers, claiming its rightful place as a valuable point on Africa’s east coast. Merchants from as far away as India and the Arabian Peninsula would bring in spices and trade them for precious items like gold and ivory. At different points in history […]

Moroni (Comoros)

The Comoros is an archipelago consisting of four islands, characterised by picturesque sandy beaches, the largest of which is Ngazidja (‘Grande Comore’), which is home to the Union capital and seat of the government, Moroni. The islands are located in the Indian Ocean, in the Mozambique Channel, just 200 miles off the east African coast. […]

Mogadishu (Somalia)

Mogadishu, known locally as Xamar or Hamar, is the capital and most populous city of Somalia. Located in the coastal Banaadir region on the Indian Ocean, the city has served as an important port for millennia.

Scuba Diving in Malindi


Combining class and sophistication and also Swahili with Italian, Malindi is, for many, the pick of Kenya’s resort towns. Italian chic is in evidence almost everywhere in Malindi, from its smart and inviting ristoranti and trattorie to coffee shops where the morning cappuccinos and espressos are always perfectly made to shops selling dazzlingly priced homeware. […]